Greetings from Chilly Canada


Those of you who know me know that my job takes me to remote locations from time to time.  By remote I mean away from my home and family. 

Today, I woke up in a little town in Canada.  It’s a nice enough place.  66,000 residents.  It has a mall and it has it’s own McDonalds.  Hey, when I was a kid, a town was measured by how many McDonald’s it had.  I remember my chemistry teacher bragging that Frayser had THREE McDonalds!  Some accomplishment. 

So, this frigid little town has all the amenities of home.  A Wal-Mart, a Home Depot, and various eating establishments.  But it doesn’t have my wife, whom I love with everything I have.  Or my sons, whom I miss a great deal.  It doesn’t have my fifty inch TV, nor my guitars and amp.  It doesn’t have my friends, and it doesn’t have familiar faces and voices.  It has work.  That’s it.  In fact, the facility I’m working at has a ton of work.  It’s not at all like the facility in GA, which currently has enough room on our shop floor to have a go cart race.  It’s ironic, then, that I’m working here, providing jobs for Canadians, while my company had to lay off a bunch of people. 

I’ve decided that I won’t be coming back up here to do this again.  I can’t justify the work I’m doing here while Americans suffer with unemployment.  I hope it doesn’t cost me my job, but I’m not worried about that.  Because it’s a cost I’m willing to pay.  My wife, who is great, may not agree. 

I heard on the radio that they are expecting 5 centimeters of snow tonight.  No big deal, apparently.  That’s about two inches of snow, give or take.  (I paid attention in class when we covered the metric system, but that’s not why I know.  I happen to remember that one inch is 2.54 cm.  Don’t ask me how.  I just remember.)   I’m not worried, though.  My hotel is two minutes from the work site. 

I haven’t kept up with news in the US.  They cover it here, but in the context of how Canada does things.  This is a pretty liberal country, so they like President Obama, and his tax and spend politics. 

As a side note, I saw on TV last night an ad for supplemental health insurance.  We’ve all heard from the left about how great the Canadian single payer system is.  I wonder, then, why they would need supplemental insurance, and why our government hasn’t said anything about how that may work in the US.  If supplemental insurance is affordable and readily available, many people who currently have insurance may opt to buy this insurance.  Would our government give us a tax break if we choose to buy this insurance to offset the cost of the supplemental insurance. 

So, keep your chins up.  There may be somenthing in this deal for the working American yet. 

I’ll be checking in as much as I can.  Thanks for reading.

One Response to “Greetings from Chilly Canada”

  1. Rhonda Says:

    Good stuff, Jon….as usual. Just read the last 3 or 4 articles. Stay warm in Canada…it’s probably about the same as it is here in the south.

    Take care,

    Rhonda

Leave a Reply

