Some Random Thoughts


Snow sucks. 

I’ve heard that the Eagles may be shopping Donovan McNabb.  Again.  Why?  Do they think Mike Vick can get them to the Super Bowl?  I hear Denver may need a quarterback.  They haven’t been the same since John Elway retired. 

I read in a Canada paper today that the opinion that Toyota will emerge from this “quality madness” relatively unscathed is very likely because of the way their management has handled this recall business.  They responded slowly but correctly.  They identified the problem, admitted it, and committed to fixing it.  I share this opinion, but more because Americans tend to be brand loyal.  Even a screw up is forgiven. Unless the screw up kills someone.  Then, the wronged party’s family pays a lawyer to sue and get them enough money to buy a fleet of Priuses. 

How can one tell if the brakes in a Prius fail, anyway?  This could be easily remedied if somebody would come up with a dynamic braking system that reverses the magnetic field on an electric motor turning each wheel.  But, if that feature were included, you’d have to pay $75,000 for a car you couldn’t put your kids and groceries in at the same time. 

They have a dish up here called poutine.  It’s not exactly heart-friendly.  It’s french fries smothered in brown gravy and farmer’s cheese.  It’s tasty, but I don’t plan on having any.  My heart has enough problems.  Like pork. 

Mmmm.  Pork. 

I am stuck here over the coming weekend, while the natives take a three day weekend for, get this, President’s day. 

I may be stuck here next weekend too, if my customer witness test doesn’t go well next Thursday and Friday. 

“1000 Ways to Die” is on in the background.  Why would anyone watch this crap?  My personal favorite is the woman who used tapeworms to lose weight.  Nothing else needs to be said here. 

I read an opinion piece that called President Obama a rhetoric pump.  I’m paraphrasing, of course.  I could look up the quote, but I ain’t going outside to get the paper out of my car.  It freakin’ freezing. 

I have to be careful what I write here, but Canadian workers are,  how can I put this delicately,  mindless boobs?  I spent quite a bit of time on the phone with them before I came here, and they did better this time, but they can’t find twenty five foot ethernet cables?  I bought two of them at Staples last night.  How hard is that?  Device labels?  I have to ship device labels to Canada?  Don’t they make printers up here? 

If I see one more “I’d rather be playing hockey” bumper sticker, I’m going to scream. 

It’s kind of funny to me that Mary Landrieu’s brother was elected governor of Louisiana.  I guess he thinks he can sell his vote too… oh wait.  He’s governor.  Only one vote. 

That’s it for tonight, kids.  You all be safe.  I’ll try to keep the pebbles warm, if you know what I mean.

One Response to “Some Random Thoughts”

  1. Wallace Says:

    Mitch Landrieu Govenor of LA? He won mayor of New Orleans. Jindel still governor and if I calculated it right, he is up for relection for 2011. Mitch was LT Governor before winning the race; probally got that confused.

Leave a Reply

